I Want To Be An Artist

To become an Artist is the goal of many people

Especially those who have finally taken that drawing class or that sketching course. It’s easy to fall in love with developing the skills to create something that looks just like the real thing, only better.

Art-MediumsUnless you are inclined to see and record things with eyes out of focus then what you create may evoke feelings or thought not immediately obvious to every observer.

Still if the bug to draw, sketch, paint and share your Art is big inside of you then you will find the time to become an Artist. When I was younger I ate less and saved for supplies. I took vacations just to work on my Art.

Do you find yourself drawn to galleries and classes and even hangouts that are frequented by artists? I did, and still do. At first it was just Art-Speek, but now I know what they are saying and see their points of view. I still don’t often agree but new ideas and ways of looking at Art are all around and I am constantly learning and growing.

In my youth I worked and painted

When I got older I still worked and painted. I studied the paintings and lives of many painters both in the distant past and today. Most Artist work and paint, many don’t get recognized soon, and some never. So if you want to be an Artist, do it because it calls to you and you love it.

Ocean Clark PaintingsLike the waiter in L.A. saying, “I’m an out of work Actor”. I was often an “Out of work Artist”, so I worked many jobs and developed many skills and talents as I practiced my Art. I gave away many of my best works and painted more. The really great Artists would never have room to keep even a fraction of what they create. But no Artist would have become great without creating hundreds of paintings.

Watch videos on painting techniques and practice what you see until you can do a good job too. Sometimes I practice getting just one or two techniques down before I try them on canvas. Ask other Artists how they obtained an effect you like, then practice it, go back and ask again, ask others too. There truly are many techniques and some will create similar effects but some you will master more easily than others.

That is why you will see Artists painting copies of Art in museums. They want to learn to duplicate the style, look and feel of the great masters before they apply what they learn to their own works.

So Study, Watch, Ask and Apply your way to being an Artist.

Learn more about Art and Becoming an Artist from Local Artist Plain Jane

Leave a comment